MOXIE: The CCR News Source

College Republicans Finalize Merger and Conduct 2024 Primary Straw Poll

June 26, 2023
CCR Leadership

Image Credit:

This weekend, delegates of the California College Republicans (CCR) and California Federation of College Republicans (CFCR) met for a joint convention at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada to finalize a merger and decide on the name of the ensuing organization, as well as hear from the following prominent speakers:

  • Saurabh Sharma, President of American Moment;
  • Jessica Millan Patterson, Chairwoman of the California Republican Party (video address)
  • Corrin Rankin, Vice Chairwoman of the California Republican Party;
  • Sigal Chattah, RNC National Committeewoman from Nevada;
  • Eric Early, Candidate for U.S. Senator from California;
  • Mark Ivanyo, Republicans for National Renewal;
  • Jack Guerrero, Candidate for County Supervisor;
  • Brittani Daniels, CEO of Blanchard Place;
  • Tamika Hamilton, Co-Chair of Maggie’s List;
  • Adrian Norman, Staff Writer at Timcast

In addition, the organization conducted a presidential straw poll of members.


With over 100 attendees and 70 voting delegates in attendance, in a vote of 34-24 (59% majority) with 12 abstentions, the delegates approved the name to be the California College Republicans and continue a 60 year legacy. California College Republicans is the original name of the organization as founded in 1963. Delegates remained cordial as the result was read and the room erupted in applause as unity was finalized after a 4-year split.

In following with the merger terms, the social media accounts and assets of the organizations shall be consolidated, and CFCR’s status as an independent committee will be terminated with the Secretary of State.

Corrin Rankin, Vice Chairwoman of the California Republican Party, who attended convention as a featured speaker, commented that she was “honored to witness the unity.”

Congratulations and well wishes poured in from other Party officials including Hon. Fred Whitaker, Chairman of the Republican Party of Orange County; Hon. Scott Baugh, Chairman Emeritus of the Republican Party of Orange County and Candidate for U.S. Congress (CA-47); Shawn Steel, RNC National Committeeman from California; and Jessica Millan Patterson, Chairwoman of the California Republican Party. Patterson stated that she was happy to see the organization “stronger than ever and working together” and said it was “an incredible group of young conservatives.”

David Chan, who also serves as Chairman of the Alameda County Republican Party, was elected Chairman of CCR unanimously.

“Even though the vote to finalize unity under the name CCR was close, I’m thrilled that all delegates were excited about unity even if their preferred name did not win — and I’m even more excited to finally say we are united and that we are focused on building our ranks and turning our focus toward fighting the Left and not each other,” said Chan.

“I could not be more proud of our College Republican members and their willingness to finally let go of past disputes and focus on building the future of our movement together, and I’m tremendously grateful for their trust in me — and I look forward to working with them to support our Party’s goal of more wins in 2024 and beyond,” Chan continued.


President Donald J. Trump won the straw poll with 72% of the vote. The full results of the straw poll of convention attendees are as follows:

  • 72% (38 votes) Donald Trump
  • 15% (8 votes) Ron DeSantis
  • 4% (2 votes) Vivek Ramaswamy
  • 9% (5 votes) Others
Moxie History

​Moxie was originally CCR's print Magazine, which ran from c. 2003-2011. Moxie functioned as both a news source and a yearbook for College Republicans before the social media age. Moxie was very popular in its print days — and even made its way in the hands of prominent political commentator Sean Hannity! Chairmen Emeriti Dylan Martin and Nick Ortiz revived Moxie in 2020 as CCR's news arm.

For more history, visit the About Us page!

Support the College Republicans